Debut Spotlight: First Time Authors for Teens Event 9/14/14

On Sunday I had a chance to attend Books of Wonder’s Debut Spotlight: First Time Authors For Teens event, featuring Adi Alasid, Isabel Gillies, Katherine Howe, Amanda Maciel, and Amy Zhang. First each author introduced him or herself, and then they talked about their books. I always love hearing about how authors come up with their ideas. After they spoke, the audience asked questions. Since two of the books dealt with bullying in high school, many of the questions centered around that. Some of the authors agreed that high school was the worst experience of their lives, while others said they loved it. They were also asked if they would be friends with their main characters, and Amy Zhang, whose character is a bully, promptly answered, “NO.”

photo 5

After they finished answering questions, the authors signed books for their readers. It was a quick but fun event, and I’m happy I went. I’ve read some but not all of the books featured, and I’m definitely going to read the rest soon!

I will be attending another event at Books of Wonder this week. This Friday they’re hosting the Fierce Reads event, and I’ll be going with Amy McNulty. I’m very excited for that one!

2 thoughts on “Debut Spotlight: First Time Authors for Teens Event 9/14/14

Leave a comment