Write Everyday!

So you want to write a novel. That’s great! But guess what? You actually have to sit down and write it! Gasp, I know! The thing doesn’t write itself; how unfair is that? If only we could plug our brains up to the computer–no wait, maybe that’s not such a great idea. Who knows what’s going on in that head of yours.

Writing is hard, I get it. Finding time to sit down and compose a novel takes both effort and sacrifice. Writing a page today and another one three months from now will not help the creative juices flow. The greatest bit of advice I ever read was you must write everyday. No excuses. Listen, I know, I work forty hours a week, and there are days when I come home and all I want to do is veg out in front of the computer looking at pointless junk. But you have to be strict with yourself. For me, I’ll get the day’s writing out of the way, and then reward myself with looking at pointless junk. However, I’m lucky enough that once I get into a story, I’d rather be writing than anything else. But sure, even when I’m absolutely obsessed with my current project and want to spend every waking moment writing, there will still be days where I can’t get into the flow. But that’s okay! Even if I only write five hundred words, it’s still something! The story and characters are still fresh in my mind, which is exactly what I want. And who knows; maybe the next day I’ll write two thousand words.

So that’s my advice to you today. When writing a novel, write every single day, even if it’s only a few words. It doesn’t have to be a masterpiece, and you might throw it out during the edits, but that doesn’t matter. Keeping the story alive, day after day, will help you reach your goal of writing (and completing!) a novel.

One thought on “Write Everyday!

Leave a Reply

