The Beginning.

I started a new work today! As in a brand new story, set in a brand new world, with a brand new set of characters. It’s an idea I’ve been playing with for the past couple of weeks; I had an idea and I’ve been expanding on it whenever I can. Today I actually sat down with my trusty notebook, jotting down some notes. I’m not the type of person that has to outline every single little detail before I can write, but I like to write down the general direction I want the story to go. Of course, none of this is set in stone, and it’s fun to go back and look at my notes when I’ve finished the first draft to see the differences. I don’t even know how I want this story to end, but I’ll figure that out while I’m writing. That’s how my brain works!

The only reason why I didn’t start writing the moment I came up with the idea was because I didn’t have any names picked out. And as you know from this post, I can’t write unless my characters have names. I was hesitant about starting a brand new story (as when I write, the story consumes me like a black hole, taking over my life until I’ve finished it. Also, I forget how to speak properly. And I have crazy, bizarre dreams. I’m not exactly sane during the process!), so I refused to even think about names. But the story was calling to me today, so I spent some time browsing through sites and playing around with letters. Once I got my names (for the main characters only. Apologizes to the secondary characters, but I spend very little time on their names!), I was ready to start.

Like usual, I found it hard to tear myself away from the computer, and I wrote almost 2000 words. Already the story is surprising me, with the main character acting not quite as I intended her to. But that’s not a bad thing! And also like usual, even when I’m not sitting down and writing, I’m working on future scenes–see why I don’t have to worry about not having an ending just yet? It’ll come to me when my brain is ready. Usually this is when I’m trying to fall asleep at night (hmm, maybe that’s why I have strange dreams?).

I’m going to chart my progress this time around, recording how many words I write per day. It might only be interesting to me, but I can share it if anyone would like to see. Maybe on a weekly basis? While I have no deadline for this, I want to continue my tradition of writing everyday (unless I have a headache, in which I then go to bed extra early and try to write even more the next day!). Wish me luck! Anyone else working on a project right now? How’s that going?

2 thoughts on “The Beginning.

  1. The break you told me about taking yesterday didn’t last long! ^^ That’s a good thing, for the most part, though!

    I broke my record on THIS WIP today–2500 words. I’m trying to keep up the momentum. I can’t believe this time last week I had about 11,000 words (after FIVE MONTHS of on and off work–well, I worked on other projects, too) and now I have 19,000. I hope I can keep up the pace!

    • I’ve found that once a new story starts calling, it’s best if I don’t ignore it. Balancing work, writing, and fun stuff is always difficult (I’d rather just focus on the fun stuff!), but doable. Like I said, there’s no rush for this story, but I do want to write a little bit each day, just to keep it fresh in my mind.

      Wow, that’s great! I hope you can keep up the pace as well. I love those days when I can easily write 2000 words. I start to get a little brain dead by the end of those sessions, though. I’m still not sure how I managed 5000 words in one day on my last short story. I loved it too much to stop writing, I guess!

Leave a Reply

