The Emotional First Draft.

I always experience a multitude of emotions when writing a first draft. It usually beings with excitement:

“YAY, I’m starting a new story with new characters and a new world!! I can’t wait to write all day long!”

But then, somewhere around the middle, it hits me:

“WAH this is terrible, I hate it, I can’t show it to anyone!!”

Suddenly, writing becomes a struggle. I want to give up. I want to throw the draft away and never think about it again. I hate myself for being such a poor writer. Luckily, I’m also incredibly stubborn, and always have a fierce desire to see things through to the end. So I keep writing and eventually, I get over that middle hump, which means it’s time for the ending:

“I love the ending, the endings are always so much fun, ooh I can’t wait to write this part and that part and…”

And before you know it, I’m done. And happy again. Until it’s time for edits:

“I hate editing arghhhh–oh wait, this part is actually better than I thought, let me just read a little bit more…”

Writing. It’s a roller coaster ride from start to finish.

3 thoughts on “The Emotional First Draft.

Leave a Reply

