The Perfectionist Problem.

Being a bit of a perfectionist, it’s impossible for me to send my beta an incomplete manuscript. Oh no, I need to have the whole thing written, edited, revised, and edited again before I can send it to her. And even then, if it’s not quite where I want it to be, I get all nervous, knowing she’s reading something that’s not, well, perfect.

Which is so ridiculous.

Take my current manuscript. Novel Number Nine. I wrote the first draft and then went back and proceeded to rewrite a huge chunk of it. There are still a few parts that I’m not completely happy with, but after writing some chapters two, three times, I knew I needed a fresh pair of eyes to look at it. She’s currently reading through it for the first time, letting me know which parts don’t work. Those parts are usually the ones I had problems with, and after emailing one another back and forth, I’m able to finally turn the scenes into what I want them to be. The whole process is actually a lot of fun, too!

I don’t think I’ll ever be able to write a chapter and pass it on to her just like that, without having the rest of the story written. Once a perfectionist, always a perfectionist. But at least I’m now able to pass along a flawed story without feeling (too) uneasy about it!

4 thoughts on “The Perfectionist Problem.

  1. Half (or more?) of writing is rewriting! Glad I can help out. A fresh pair of eyes always does wonders. I know if I finish my other YA WIP I’ll have to rewrite quite a bit before I can share; it’s too all-over the place right now!

    • I think when I first started writing I was against rewrites (“Oh no, so much work!”), but now I enjoy them! I especially love when they finally click and things start making sense. It would be nice if I could get it right on the first try, but that’s impossible! ^^ Good luck with your rewrites! I know what you mean about it being too all-over the place; that’s usually my problem, too! But once you get the first draft down, it should be easier for you to get it where you want it to be.

Leave a Reply

