Best Books of 2012

Best Books I Read in 2012

I’ve been seeing these lists pop up on various blogs, so I decided, hey, I read a lot, why not share some of my favorites, too? I’d love to hear what books you enjoyed this year!  (Note-Not all of these books were published in 2012, they just happened to be books I read during 2012!)

Best Book: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (I’d been hearing some buzz about this book, so decided to check it out myself. It was one of those books I found impossible to put down; after one short reading session, I was already over 100 pages in! I actually had to force myself to stop reading because I didn’t want the story to ever end. Also, the Darkling? Hello, new literary crush!)

Best Sequel: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor (Daughter of Smoke and Bone was my favorite book of 2011, so I was eagerly awaiting the sequel, which did not disappoint! Masterfully written, with a heart-pounding plot, I read this one slowly to savor every moment, every word. There was a bit at the end that scared me; I couldn’t get that scene out of my head for days. I don’t know how this series is going to end, but I certainly can’t wait to see.)

Best New Series: The Diviners by Libba Bray (Um, Libba Bray writing about the 20s? YES, PLEASE. I’m pretty sure I did a happy dance when I learned of this series. I was able to score an ARC at Book Expo, and it was the first one I read out of all the free books I got that day. Evie is a fiercely awesome character surrounded by a stellar supporting cast. The book is long, which I know has scared some people, but believe me, you will not even notice the length. Bring on the flappers!)

Best Dystopian: Insurgent by Veronica Roth (You always worry the second book in a series won’t hold up, but Insurgent was just as hard to put down as Divergent. I love the main couple so much, and reading about their struggles to stay together as the world around them was falling apart had me cheering from the sidelines.)

Best Stand-Alone: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater (I had heard about this book, but honestly, I didn’t know anything about the plot. It’s a touching story about two characters who have the same goal: Win the Scorpio races. While I enjoyed the progression of their very believable relationship, it was Corr, the fiery water horse, who stole my heart. The ending, in my opinion, was utterly perfect.)

Best Ending: The FitzsOsbornes at War by Michelle Cooper (Also, the best historical fiction I read this year. Set during World War II, this book was full of heartache and happiness. I knew to expect death, I just didn’t expect it to hit as hard as it did. I was very worried how a few of my favorites would end up, but, without spoiling anything, I can say I was very satisfied with their (unexpected!) outcome.)

Best Fairy Tale Retelling: A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan (A futuristic retelling of Sleeping Beauty that blew my mind. Everything that I expected to happen, didn’t, and everything that did, surprised the heck out of me. Otto is about the cutest character ever, I should add.)

Best Fantasy: The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson (I pretty much spent the entire book swooning all over the place. The love interest, my goodness. *fans self* This book was a rarity; when I got to the end, all I wanted to do was turn back to page one and start all over again. I’m in utter agony waiting for the final book, I should add.)

Best Paranormal: The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins (I couldn’t believe it when my friend read this in a day, but once I got my hands on it, I could NOT put it down! Sure, it took me three days, but that’s still pretty quick, considering the length. This book was crazy! And I mean that in the best way possible! I had no idea what was happening half the time and I loved it.)

3 thoughts on “Best Books of 2012

  1. We must like different types of books: I haven’t heard of any of these. Some of them sound very interesting though, especially the Veronica Roth ones. Thanks for sharing your recommendations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

