To My Fellow Readers.

Lately, I’ve been wanting to read more YA Contemporary. I don’t know where this feeling came from; I think it’s partly series fatigue (as in, I’m in the middle of reading 32098324 series and I just want a stand-alone every now and again, you know?), and partly guilt for ignoring this genre for so long. When I pick new novels to read, I always gravitate towards historical, fantasy, fairy-tales, paranormals, or dystopians. I like magic and swords and all that fun stuff, but it’s time for a change. Unfortunately, I know next to nothing about what’s out there, which is why I’m calling for YOU, fellow bloggers, to recommend some titles. Tell me anything because chances are, I probably haven’t read it.

Come on, throw some titles my way!

4 thoughts on “To My Fellow Readers.

  1. Have you ever read Sarah Dessen’s books? They are SO good. I’m also going to check out John Green, I’ve heard amazing things about his books as well.

    • Sarah Dressen is actually what started my desire to read YA contemporary. I’ve never read any of her books and I definitely need to fix that! I’ve been meaning to read John Green, as well. I’m going to try to read more stand-alones instead of starting too many series this year. We’ll see how well that works.

  2. The “Forbidden Game” books I gave you are contemporary, sort of. First off the “contemporary” is ’90s (a la Sweet Valley High), and there is some magic involved! Speaking of SVH, there are those Sweet Valley Life books, too!

    • I’m looking for books with NO magic whatsoever (I know, that’s something you probably never expected to hear me say, right?). Realistic contemporary? One of these days I’ll get around to reading the Sweet Valley Life books! I miss Elizabeth and Jessica!

Leave a Reply

