Teen Flights of Fancy 2013

Today I attended the Teen Flights of Fancy event at Books of Wonder in Manhattan. It was my first event since October, so I was super excited about it. Not even allergies with a constantly running nose or the frigid NYC air could keep me away!

009 (Medium)

The authors for this event were Brodi Ashton, Jocelyn Davies, Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows, and Teri Terry. I’d never met any of them before (but have read all of them except Teri Terry), although I did see Jocelyn Davies MC an event at Comic Con last year. They were all wonderful, interesting, and incredibly funny (Brodi Ashton had the crowd in stitches!). First they each introduced themselves and talked a little bit about their books/series, telling us how they first conceived the idea for their stories. Then the crowd asked them questions, which included everything from how much input did they have in their covers (little to none, but no one minded as they all have gorgeous covers!) to who their literary boyfriends would be. The authors also did trivia questions and the winners received some neat swag!

004 (Medium)

(Brodi Ashton, Jocelyn Davies, Cynthia Hand, and Teri Terry)

003 (Medium)(Jodi Meadows)

Afterwards was the signing portion! I first had Cynthia Hand sign my copy of Boundless, the final book in the Unearthly trilogy. I’ve only just discovered the Unearthly series, but I love it to absolute pieces. I’m afraid to read the final book, though. Last books in a series ALWAYS scare me. Next, I met Jodi Meadows, which was really exciting as I’ve loved Incarnate since I read it last year. Can’t wait to read Asunder! Jodi is an avid knitter, and she had little Ana and Sam knitted dolls, along with an adorable and awesome dragon! I should have taken a picture, but when you get up there and are talking to a favorite author, your mind tends to blank out. But they were really cute! I also met Margot from Epic Reads and Tea Time, which was really, really awesome. I felt like I was meeting a celebrity!
014 (Medium)011 (Medium)It was a great day, and I can’t wait to read my new books! Author events are always fun, and they end up inspiring my writing. Looking forward to the next one!

One thought on “Teen Flights of Fancy 2013

  1. Pingback: Asunder tour | Jodi Meadows

Leave a Reply

