4/14/13 Author Event

On Sunday, April 14th, I had a chance to attend another book event at Books of Wonder in Manhattan. This one featured five authors of supernatural or paranormal books. I haven’t had a chance to read any of their novels yet, but everything sounded so interesting that I’m definitely adding them to my to-read list! And all five books varied greatly from one another. There was a book about missing girls, one about witches, another about Frankenstein’s daughters, a book set 400 years in the future in Brazil, and a book about memories.

006 (Small)

The five authors were (from left to right) Nova Ren Suma, Brittany Geragotelis, Suzanne Weyn, Alaya Dawn Johnson, and Jesse Karp. They started off the event by reading passages from their novels, and then answered questions from the audience. As always, I enjoyed hearing other authors talk about how they write and edit. For example, I’m not the only one who hates to share a manuscript until it’s been edited quite a few times! They even talked about National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo); Nova Ren Suma said she attempted it once, but failed. And Brittany Geragotelis talked about Wattpad, which I had never heard of until then! Free stories, how cool is that?

The weather was nice and I had a chance to do some exploring, but due to another commitment, I had to rush home sooner than I liked. I’m hoping to take advantage of another warm day and go back to the city in the very near future, camera in hand.

Leave a Reply

