The Fight for the Future Tour 2-22-2014

Yesterday (2/22) I attended The Fight for the Future Tour at Books of Wonder in New York City! It was my first book event of the year, and I’m so happy the weather was behaving itself for once, making it possible for me to go. We’ve been having snowstorms every other day it seems, but yesterday it was in the 50s, the sun was out, the snow was melting… What a great day!

003 (Medium)

At the event, Alexandra Bracken, Dan Krokos, Amie Kaufman, and Meagan Spooner talked about their books, where their ideas came from, and how they were published. I especially enjoyed hearing about how Amie and Meagan co-wrote These Broken Stars despite living in completely different countries. Also, the amount of research each author did for their books to make them as accurate as possible was incredible.

They also talked about writing and revising, and how you shouldn’t spend all of your time trying to get the first draft perfect. Amie had a great quote about how you can’t edit a blank page, which I thought was incredibly true. You write and you revise and you revise and you revise. If you stress yourself out over not having a perfect first draft, you’ll never finish it.

There was a huge turnout, and I saw plenty of people with bags packed with books to be signed. I had a lot of fun, and I’m looking forward to more events in the upcoming months!

Also, sorry for only one picture this time around. I actually had a column in front of me, obstructing my view. It was the only seat left when I got there (that’s how crowded it was!).

2 thoughts on “The Fight for the Future Tour 2-22-2014

Leave a Reply

