And even more revisions.

So. Once again, I’ve been neglecting this poor blog. And I apologize for that, but I’ve been so busy with revisions and revisions and oh yeah, more revisions, that I haven’t had much time for anything else! But now I can happily say that I finished revising the second draft!

I’ve been working on THE SHADOW STEALER, the third book in the Silver Moon Saga, since November. I finished the first draft in February, took some time off, and then started revising. Unlike the last two books in the Silver Moon Saga, this one got ripped to shreds. Hey, it happens. I knew as I was writing it that I wasn’t happy with certain scenes, but I told myself to get to the end, and then work on fixing it. Which is what I did, and I’m glad I did it that way. I didn’t completely change every single page, but there were a lot of changes. I even cut 10,000 words in one shot. That did make me sad, but I knew none of those 10,000 words were important (there was a very cute scene that I hated to get rid of, but I made sure to replace it with an even cuter scene!). Despite all these changes, the word count only grew 5000 words, which is good, since this one is long. Very long. But it’s the final book in the series, and I wanted to make sure my characters and the story got a proper ending, which means more words. Hey, we all like long books, right? (Please say yes!)

So what comes next? While I wish I could send THE SHADOW STEALER to my beta, it’s not quite ready yet. I still want to read it over one more time to make sure my changes work. But because I’ve been focusing on this book since November, I want to spend some time away from it so it’s fresh when I reread it. In the meantime, I have a second novella to work on! I’m really excited to start working on a certain someone’s back story. I started it a few months ago, just as a random, fun exercise, and now I’m ready to add to it.

There is, of course, other things going on. May is a busy month with birthdays and vacation and BEA! I’m so excited for BEA. I’ll definitely post more about it as we get closer (maybe I can do a survival guide?). I’m also looking forward to the summer and WARM WEATHER. I can’t wait to sit outside and read! My to-read pile is obnoxiously huge; it’s time to get through some of these books!

2 thoughts on “And even more revisions.

Leave a Reply

