Another month over.

So June is over. When did that happen? I was holed up in my writing cave and didn’t even notice the days flying by.

But I’m happy to say I finished writing the second Silver Moon Saga novella! Have I talked about the novella here? Maybe not. Let’s pretend I haven’t. The second novella was not something I planned on doing. I thought about it, yes, but I didn’t think I had enough material to fill a second novella. One story was written (I actually wrote it before I wrote The Soul Healer, and it’s about two characters who show up for the first time in that book! And the story takes place after The Soul Healer! Because that’s not weird and confusing at all.), and at the beginning of this year I had an idea for another story. But I was busy writing the final book, The Shadow Stealer, so I couldn’t work on that shiny new idea. Around that time I was convinced that yes, we needed a second novella, so I kept that idea in mind all these months. The more I thought about it, the more I realized it was going to be a heck of a lot longer than I originally anticipated. I decided to put it on hold once more and work on the third story for the novella, which is a short but sweet Gabi and Rafe story. With that finished, it was finally time to work on what I now refer to as Evan’s Not So Short Story.

 
Evan’s Not So Short Story (it does have a title, which is also going to be the title of the novella itself, but I’m keeping that a secret for the time being) is a prequel story, but it should be read after you read The Soul Healer. That sounds weird, but trust me, it works better that way. Originally I thought it would be maybe twenty pages long, but as the days went by, and the word count kept growing, I realized that wouldn’t be the case. It’s about the length of a novel now (add the other two stories, and yes, it’s definitely novel-length), and I regret nothing. I read it over this weekend and I love it immensely. I really can’t wait to share it with the world (January 27th!).

So that’s the novella. Three stories, two short, one humongous. It’s all written, and now I’m just working on edits. After that, it’s back to The Shadow Stealer! I haven’t read it since I heavily revised it, and I’m curious to see if my changes work or not. I’m actually going to make more changes based on things that came up in Evan’s Not So Short Story. It seems daunting right now, but I hope it’ll go smoothly. Final books are hard, you guys, but I’m going to work hard to give you the best possible ending!

June was all about writing, and July will be all about editing.

Leave a Reply

