The YA Scavenger Hunt is here!

scavenger hunt
Welcome to YA Scavenger Hunt! This bi-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors…and a chance to win some awesome prizes! At this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each author, you also get a clue for the hunt. Add up the clues, and you can enter for our prize–one lucky winner will receive one signed book from each author on the hunt in my team! But play fast: this contest (and all the exclusive bonus material) will only be online for 72 hours!

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page to find out all about the hunt. There are SIX contests going on simultaneously, and you can enter one or all! I am a part of the INDIE TEAM–but there is also a red team, a gold team, an orange team, a green team, and a blue team for a chance to win a whole different set of signed books!

If you’d like to find out more about the hunt, see links to all the authors participating, and see the full list of prizes up for grabs, go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page.

Here’s how to play:
 
Directions: Below, you’ll notice that I’ve listed my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the indie team, and then add them up (don’t worry, you can use a calculator!).
Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.
Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by October 5th, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.

Okay, got that? Moving right along, I’d like to introduce Shay Lynam!

shay

Shay was born and raised in a small, rainy town in Washington, but now resides in another quaint, rainy town with her husband and pug-beagle mix, Lucy. When not at work, you can usually find her at home or at her favorite coffee shop, typing away on her newest novel.

And now I’ll let Shay tell you about her upcoming novel!

Hey all!

As your reward for finding me, I want to share my Peter Pan spin-off novel, Never, with you! It isn’t set to come out until November 4th but because you are awesome and participating in this crazy scavenger hunt, I thought you deserved a sneak peek. Also, because I want to get you guys extra excited about Never, I’m going to share a teaser of my book cover. My actual cover reveal isn’t until November 1st so you guys are getting an extremely exclusive first look.

First, a little about Never:

Wynn Harper spends her days trying to blend into the background. This isn’t very easy, especially being the great granddaughter of the late Wendy Darling. Wynn used to love Great Gran’s stories about her adventures in Neverland with Peter Pan and his lost boys, but that’s all they were. Just stories, right? That’s what Wynn keeps telling herself.

But then she meets Peter, the beautiful boy with a voice to match, and when he whisks her off to Neverland, Wynn knows this is no fairy tale. The lost boys are a group of rebellious ex-pirates, young Hook has a soft side, and Peter Pan isn’t as innocent as you might think.

Here’s an exclusive excerpt. When Wynn meets Peter.

“What’s it like in Neverland?” I asked after we had been flying in silence for a while. Peter’s hand tightened more around my own frozen fingers. I couldn’t feel my body anymore. I could’ve been missing both my legs and I wouldn’t even notice until we got to Neverland and I’d discover I was a couple feet shorter.

“Different,” he said looking over to meet my eyes.

“How do you mean?”

I watched as he swiveled his body and was suddenly under me, floating on his back. What would happen if I just let go of his hand? I would collide with him, he could wrap his arms around me and maybe I could lay my head on that soft orange t-shirt. I bet I’d be able to feel the ridges of his chest with my cheek. Something told me there was a body of a seventeen year old god under those clothes. Wow, maybe a dunk in that frigid ocean below would do me some good.

Peter cleared his throat and a smirk appeared on his face. He must have noticed my eyes trailing thoughtfully down his body. “It just is,” he finally said and laid my hand on his shirt so it was flat under his. Yep, I could feel the hard lines of his chest. “You’ll see for yourself soon.”

“Soon?” I asked giving him a confused look. “I thought the saying goes ‘straight on till morning.’ It isn’t even eleven yet.”

Peter tipped his head back so he was looking in the direction we were headed. “Think again.”

I lifted my head and saw the horizon glowing with morning light. The moon was still high and bright, the stars were still shining brilliantly, yet the sky down far ahead was beginning to fade to a pale blue as the sun slowly rose. In the distance I could make out a break in the horizon. Dips and peaks made up of mountains and valleys rose up from the water like a tiny hopeful beat on a heart monitor with a dead line. 

Neverland.

And finally, a sneak peek at my beautiful cover, made by Kellie Dennis with Book Cover by Design (bookcoverbydesign.co.uk):

 

Never Cover YASH

 

You can pre-order Never in e-book form on Amazon.com here. Again, it’ll be available on Amazon in paperback and e-book form on November 4th for just $2.99!

Thanks everyone and happy hunting!

——————

Thank you, Shay! Never sounds amazing, and I can’t wait to see the full cover!
Hunters, don’t forget to enter the contest for a chance to win a ton of signed books by me, Shay, and more! To enter, you need to know that my favorite number is 12. Add up all the favorite numbers of the authors on the indie team and you’ll have all the secret code to enter for the grand prize!

And that’s not all!

I’m also giving away a $10 Amazon or Barnes and Noble gift card (winner’s choice)! To be eligible to win, enter the Rafflecopter below!

 The winner has been chosen! Thanks for playing!

Now I’ll send you on your way to Stephanie Feuer’s blog. As you’re visiting the other blogs, be on the lookout for a bonus scene from THE SIGHT SEER that I wrote specially for this contest. I’d love to hear what you think of it! Good luck!
5 thoughts on “The YA Scavenger Hunt is here!

Leave a Reply

