A New Series!

So I’ve been sitting on some news and I wasn’t sure how to share it, so I’m just going to go ahead and blurt it out:

I’m releasing a new book later this year!

Everyone, I liked to introduce you to THE FADING DUSK, the first book in the Smoke and Mirrors series. It’s YA, it’s fantasy, and it has magic, action, romance, and, of course, a little bit of humor sprinkled in.

So, what’s THE FADING DUSK all about? Lucky for you, I have a blurb:

            In the gritty city of Dusk, seventeen-year-old Irina makes her living as the street magician Bantheir’s assistant. The job isn’t glamorous, but she loves the crowds, the shows, and most of all, the illusion of magic. But Irina’s world is shattered the night she is arrested and charged as Bantheir’s accomplice to murder—murder by magic.

            Real magic, the kind that’s been forbidden since the old wars.

            Irina finds the idea of flashy showman Bantheir using actual magic to kill someone laughable, but she’s the only one who sees how ridiculous the claim is. But how can she convince everyone Bantheir is innocent when they’ve already made up their minds? Desperate, Irina must decide who she can trust to help her win her freedom. Is the surly, handsome Captain Leonid telling the truth when he says he believes Irina is innocent, or is he just using her to get to Bantheir? What about Aden, the sweet soldier and longtime fan of Irina’s who claims he’s on her side?

            Irina said she wanted to know the truth, but when she stumbles across a dark secret that changes everything, will she be strong enough to survive?

And for a visual aid, check out my Pinterest board! Not only are there photos of the characters, but you can also get a feel for the city of Dusk itself. Like the blurb says, Dusk is gritty, but it also has parts to it that are beautiful and mysterious. I’m really, really excited to introduce you all to this world. And the characters! I cannot wait for you to meet Irina! She may not be as sassy as Gabi, but she’s definitely just as fierce.

It’s on Goodreads, so you can go ahead and add it to your to-read shelves! Right now it’s set to release in July, but that might change. Please be patient with me. There’s going to be a lot of fun things included inside the book (a map! Chapter artwork!) that will make the wait worthwhile, I promise. And yes, this is the first book in a series. I actually started the first draft of the sequel (which I’m calling Dusk2 for now) yesterday. I’m very excited to dive back into this world and continue Irina’s story.

So that’s my news! There will be a cover reveal in a couple of months and all that fun stuff, so make sure you keep an eye on this blog, my Twitter, and my Facebook page for any news regarding THE FADING DUSK!

5 thoughts on “A New Series!

  1. Pingback: Introducing The Fading Dusk! | Amy McNulty

Leave a Reply

