No, I haven’t forgotten about this blog.

WHAT? AN UPDATE? HOW CAN THAT BE?!?!

Yes, I’m fully aware that I pretty much suck when it comes to updating this blog. This is what happens when I’m writing and editing. I tend to forget about things like my blog or my Facebook page. It’s bad but it’s also good because it means I’m busy!

So what have I been up to? Earlier this year I wrote the second book in the Smoke and Mirrors series (I really need to reveal the title of that soon!). It, sadly, was not perfect (not that I expected it to be, but that would have been nice!) and required a bit of editing/deleting/rewriting and all that fun stuff. I wrote the ending three times before I got it right, but guess what? I might go back and change it again! Why? One of the things I like to do to get to know new characters is write short stories from their POVs. In the Smoke and Mirrors series, I introduce new characters in book 2 and even MORE new characters in book 3 (which is still an outline at this point!). Sometimes it’s hard for me to throw a character in the middle of another character’s story (in this case, Irina’s story). I want to know who this other character is, but it’s hard to get inside of their head when I’m writing strictly from another character’s POV. So that’s why they get their own short stories (Phil’s story in A Promise of Magic is a perfect example of this. I wrote that story BEFORE I wrote The Soul Healer, even though it takes place AFTER that novel! It really helped me get a feel for both him and Kain, which is why I didn’t have any trouble writing them in The Soul Healer. I already knew, for example, that Phil was a picky eater and that Kain liked to say foolish things.). I decided in October to write a story from the POV ofΒ  a character that will make her first appearance in book 3. It started off as a little project, but now it’s evolved into this much bigger story that’s given me a ton of new ideas for book 3. The only problem is I now have to go back and tweak some things in book 2. I don’t think it’ll be too many changes, though! It’s just a lot of work during the craziest time of the year. I’m hoping once things calm down in January I’ll be able to wrap everything up and polish the short story so it’s ready to be shared soon after I publish book 2. And then I’ll get to work on book 3, which I actually cannot wait to start writing, all because I decided to write this short story.

So that’s where I am, writing wise. I’d been hoping to write two novels this year, but I’m happy with one novel and one short story (which will hopefully not be THAT long, but who knows with me). I can’t make any promises about no longer neglecting this blog and I want to thank everyone who’s still sticking around to read my random rambles. You’re awesome.

Also, The Fading Dusk went on a blog tour! If you’re interested in reading my interviews, some excerpts from the novel, and all the lovely reviews that were posted, then check out this link!

Leave a Reply

