Cover Reveal: By the Morning Light

It’s time to share the cover for the Smoke and Mirrors novella, BY THE MORNING LIGHT! Drum roll, please…

By the Morning Light - Melissa Giorgio - eBook - S.jpg

What do you think? I’m pretty much in love with this cover. It’s got a brightness to it that contrasts the gritty, darker feel of THE FADING DUSK’s cover. And see that crown of flowers? That’s important to the story. Huge thank you to Berto Designs for the cover!

So what’s BY THE MORNING LIGHT about? Lucky for you I have a blurb:

For Claudette and Emile Borde, living in the city of Ayres and working on their parents’ farm has never been enough. Influenced by stories of the past, in which magic was real and the dragons still lived, the siblings have always dreamed of leaving their city behind and embarking on their own adventures. But as squires training to become full-fledged knights, they must renounce magic, for it was magic that nearly tore the world apart during the old wars.

When the carnival comes to the city, Claudette meets Aeonia, and the two become fast friends. But Aeonia is no simple girl playing at fortune telling—she can wield magic, and it’s both breathtaking and volatile. Torn between upholding her duty as a squire and keeping a secret for her friend, Claudette must decide where her loyalties lie. Is this the adventure she’s always craved, or is she dooming her city and her loved ones by remaining silent?

Set in the same world as The Fading Dusk, By the Morning Light is a brand new adventure by author Melissa Giorgio that sets up the third book in the Smoke and Mirrors series.

Can I just say how much I enjoyed working on this story? First of all, I never planned on writing it, but my trip to Texas last September inspired it (and no, it has nothing to do with Texas itself, just some conversations I had with friends.). I spent a month wondering if I should write it, and, if I did, how could I incorporate it into this world I’ve already established? Would Irina ever meet Claudette? How? Would they get along? The more I thought about these questions, the more I realize I HAD to write this story. Of course that meant pretty much throwing out my outline for book three, but, having just finished the first draft of that book, I can safely say that I’m happy I did chuck that outline. I love Claudette. I love Emile. I love that this book can be read before or after THE FADING DUSK, and also before or after book two, THE BURNING CHAOS. I love that it helped me get a better feel for certain characters and the reasoning behind their actions. Have I used the word “love” enough yet?

BY THE MORNING LIGHT will be out in September. For now you can add it to your Goodreads shelves and visit the Pinterest board! And don’t forget to tell me what you think of the cover!

2 thoughts on “Cover Reveal: By the Morning Light

Leave a Reply

