It’s the Spring 2016 Scavenger Hunt!

YA_ScavengerHunt_WebBannerWelcome to the spring 2016 YA Scavenger Hunt! My name is Melissa Giorgio, and I am part of Team Green! This bi-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors…and a chance to win some awesome prizes! At this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each author, you also get a clue for the hunt. Add up the clues, and you can enter for our prize–one lucky winner will receive one signed book from each author on the hunt in my team! But play fast: this contest (and all the exclusive bonus material) will only be online until April 3rd!

YASH GREEN TEAM SPRING 2016

If you’d like to find out more about the hunt, see links to all the authors participating, and see the full list of prizes up for grabs, go to the YA Scavenger Hunt page.

SCAVENGER HUNT PUZZLE

Directions: Below, you’ll notice that I’ve listed my favorite number. Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the green team, and then add them up (don’t worry, you can use a calculator!).

Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.

Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by April 3rd, at noon Pacific Time. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.

Today I’d like to introduce Kimberly G. Giarratano to my blog!

Kimberly

Kimberly G. Giarratano lives in the Poconos with her husband and three kids. Her debut novel, GRUNGE GODS AND GRAVEYARDS, won the 2015 Silver Falchion Award for Best YA at Killer Nashville.

finaldeadcover

Isn’t this such a great cover? Curious what DEAD AND BREAKFAST is about?

Despite living in Key West his whole life, 18-year-old Liam Breyer is a skeptic of the supernatural until a vengeful spirit, murdered fifty years ago, nearly drowns him in a swimming pool. Luckily help arrives in the form of pretty — albeit homesick — ghost whisperer Autumn Abernathy, whose newly-divorced mom has dragged her to the island to live and work at the Cayo Hueso, a haunted bed and breakfast.

Although they initially mistrust each other, Autumn and Liam team up to solve the decades-old mystery. But on an island where every third resident is a ghost, dealing with an unstable spirit has deadly consequences. If Liam and Autumn don’t unmask the killer soon, they’re likely to become Key West’s latest haunted attraction.

Doesn’t this sound great? I love a good mystery AND a ghost story! You can purchase DEAD AND BREAKFAST (I love that title!) here!

And now Kimberly would like to share two inspiration boards with you! First, a word from the lovely author:

Greetings, YA Scavengers!

I’m so glad you could stop by on this leg of the tour. My bonus content for you are two inspiration boards for my YA paranormal mystery, Dead and Breakfast. D&B is the story of two 17-year-olds who try to put a vengeful spirit to rest by solving her murder. It’s the first in a trilogy and was inspired by a vacation to Key West that my husband and I took over four years ago. We had been touring the island when I began jotting down notes, realizing that there was a story in these details.

Key West is really an unusual island. It has pastel-colored Victorian houses with intricate lattice work, double balconies, and turrets. Feral roosters, who are protected by the local government, roam the streets. Hemingway’s six-toed cats have procreated in abundance. Key West City Cemetery is a striking metaphor for the island as it’s both creepy and whimsical. Epitaphs read, “I told you I was sick.” Scooters are the preferred form of transportation, followed by bicycles, and one’s feet. The humidity is so thick and oppressive, it’s practically corporeal. And every October, people flock to the island for Fantasy Fest, a ten-day bacchanalian party where clothing is very optional.

The first inspiration board is made up of photos I took on vacation. I didn’t have a smartphone back then so the photos are a little gray as they were taken with an old digital camera.The second board are photos I collected online (royalty free) and are much brighter. The large Victorian on the bottom is Hemingway’s house. As an author, being in the same place where Ernest Hemingway penned his novels is a surreal and inspiring experience.

I hope you enjoy this little virtual trip to Key West and I wish you luck in the hunt. If you’d like to keep up with my writing, including getting notified when Book 2, Ghost and Found, is released, please sign up for my newsletter.

Best,

KGG

KeyWest1.jpg

KeyWest2.jpg

I’ve never been to Key West, but it looks lovely (especially that pie!)!

Don’t forget to enter the contest for a chance to win a ton of signed books by me, Kimberly, and more! To enter, you need to know that I’d love to eat 8 of those pies. Add up all the favorite numbers of the authors on the green team and you’ll have all the secret codes to enter for the grand prize! Good luck!

Before you go, make sure you check out my Rafflecopter giveaway to win a $10 Amazon gift card. There will be one winner and the contest is open internationally.

Rafflecopter Giveaway

Contest is over! Thanks for playing!

Now I’m sending you on your way to T.H. Hernandez’s blog! As you’re visiting all the blogs, be on the lookout for an exclusive look at the first chapter of THE BURNING CHAOS, the forthcoming book in my Smoke and Mirrors series!

4 thoughts on “It’s the Spring 2016 Scavenger Hunt!

  1. I would so-not like humidity so oppressive that it’s “practically corporeal.” But I do like the word “bacchanalian.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

